

# STATE OF IOWA

KIM REYNOLDS, GOVERNOR ADAM GREGG, LT. GOVERNOR

## Approved Minutes - Meeting of the Iowa Civil Rights Commission, March 12, 2021

I. Roll Call -

Commissioners: Marcelena Ordaz, Sam Kooiker, Justin Johnston, Ashley Hunt.

II. Recognition of Staff, Public, and Press

Public: Dennis Mandsager (Clive, Iowa)

Staff: Charles Hill (Interim Executive Director), Charles Hill (Public Service Manager), Katie Fiala (Assistant Attorney General), Amy Quail (Civil Rights Specialist), Rachel Large (Civil Rights Specialist), Andrew Stutz (Civil Rights Specialist), SueAnn Johnson (Civil Rights Specialist), Sierra Walker (Civil Rights Specialist), Lindsey Rawson Van Wyk (Civil Rights Specialist).

### III. Interim Executive Director's Report

- a. Update on hiring permanent Executive Director.
- b. Update on federal contracts.
- c. Update on hiring.
- d. Update on summer interns.
- e. Update on budget.
- f. Update on Cares Act video project.
- g. Update on potential new ICRC job classifications.

#### IV. Approval of Minutes -

Minutes from meeting on January 6, 2020, presented. Motion to approve as made by Commissioner Kooiker, seconded by Commissioner Hunt. Approved by vote. Motion carried.

- V. Amendment of agenda to table election to fill vacant leadership positions on commission until the next meeting. Motion to amend as made by Commissioner Ordaz, seconded by Commissioner Hunt. Approved by vote. Motion carried.
- VI. Litigation and Case Law Update
  - a. Two public hearings in housing.
  - b. Ruling on judicial review in district court.
  - c. Settled housing discrimination case.
  - d. Filed two new housing petitions in district court.

#### VII. Legislative Update

## VIII. Commissioners' Reports -

- a. Commissioner Ordaz: Nothing to report.
- b. Commissioner Kooiker: Nothing to report.
- c. Commission Johnston: Nothing to report.
- d. Commissioner Hunt: Nothing to report.
- IX. Public Comments none.
- X. Next commission meeting scheduled for May 14, 2021, at 1:30 PM.

XI. Call to adjourn. Motion to adjourn as made by Commissioner Ordaz, seconded by Commissioner Kooiker. Approved by roll call vote. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned.