Commissioners' Meeting Agenda - March 4, 2016

Document Text Content: 

Iowa Civil Rights Commission Agenda
Friday, March 4, 2016 at 1:00 pm
Location, Physiolab, Science Center of Iowa
401 W. Martin Luther King Jr. Pkwy, Des Moines, IA 50309
Hosted by Des Moines Civil and Human Rights Commission


1. Roll Call
2. Recognition of Public, Press and Commissioners
3. Approval of Minutes from 10-9-2016
4. Public hearing on ICRC Nos. 03-13-64009 and 03-13-63965, DIA Nos. 14ICRC009, 14ICRC010 (ICRC and Respondent’s Motion to Dismiss Appeal as Untimely)
5. Introduction of our meeting host, the Des Moines Human and Civil Rights Commission
6. Commissioners’ Reports
     a. Commissioner Angela Williams
     b. Commissioner Patricia Lipski
     c. Commissioner Lawrence Cunningham
     d. Commissioner Doug Oelschlaeger
     e. Commissioner Tom Conley
     f. Commissioner Lily LiJun Hou
     g. Commissioner Mathew Hosford
7. Director’s Report -
          i. Legislation proposals affecting Chapter 216
          ii. Iowa Civil Rights History Toolkit
          iii. Next election of Commission Chair/Co-Chair
8. Public Comment
9. Next Meeting
10. Adjournment*
11. Deliberations
     a. May be conducted in closed session pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.5(1)(f) (2013) (“To discuss the decision to be rendered in a contested case conducted according to the provisions of chapter 17A.”)

*All meeting attendees are allowed a courtesy viewing of the Science Center’s exhibit “RACE: Are We So Different?” following the meeting.
Conference Call Instructions
Conference call number: 1-866-685-1580
Passcode: 515 242 6537 #
People on the call will hear a beep whenever someone joins or leaves the call.

Any person needing special assistance or with special accessibility needs should contact Kaitlin Smith at 515-281-0333 or