Local Human & Civil Rights Agencies

The list of local commissions is below.

Organization Title Location Numbers Contact
Ames Human Relations Commission
515 Clark Avenue
Ames, IA 50010
Phone: (515) 239-5101
Fax: (515) 239-5325
Melissa Mundt, Assistant to the City Manager
mmundt@city.ames.ia.us
Ames Ordinance
Bettendorf Human Relations Commission
1609 State Street
Bettendorf, IA 52722
Phone: (563) 344-4000
Fax: (563) 344-4012
Kristine Stone, City Attorney
kstone@bettendorf.org
Burlington Human Rights Commission
400 Washington
Burlington, IA 52601
Phone: (319) 753-8178
Fax: (319) 753-8101
Stephanie Stuecker, CPA, Director of Administrative Services
stueckers@burlingtoniowa.org
Cedar Falls Human Rights Commission
220 Clay Street
Cedar Falls, IA 50613
Phone: (319) 243-2712
Fax: (319) 273-8655
Colleen Sole,
Colleen.Sole@cedarfalls.com
Cedar Falls Ordinance (Ch. 15)
Cedar Rapids Civil Rights Commission
50 2nd avenue Bridge, 7th Floor
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
Phone: (319) 286-5036
Fax: (319) 286-5136
LaSheila Yates, Executive Director
civilrights@cedar-rapids.org
Cedar Rapids Ordinance
Clinton Human Rights Commission
611 South 3rd Street
Clinton, IA 52732
Phone: (563) 242-2144
Fax: (563) 242-7775
Pat Van Loo, City Clerk
patvanloo@ci.clinton.ia.us
Clinton Ordinance (Ch. 32)
Coralville Human Rights Commission
1512 7th Street
Coralville, IA 52241
Phone: 319-248-1700
Fax: 319-248-1894
Ellen Habell, Assistant City Administrator
ehabel@ci.coralville.ia.us
Council Bluffs Civil Rights Commission
209 Pearl Street
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Phone: (712) 328-4620
Fax: (712) 322-9255
Graham Jura, Asst. City Attorney, Executive Director
gjura@councilbluffs-ia.gov
Council Bluffs Ordinance (Ch. 1.40)
Davenport Civil Rights Commission
226 West 4th Street
Davenport, IA 52801
Phone: (563) 326-7888
Fax: (563) 326-7956
Latrice Lacey, Executive Director
llacey@ci.davenport.ia.us
Davenport Ordinance (Ch 2.58)
Decorah Human Rights Commission
400 Claiborne Drive
PO Box 138
Decorah, IA 52101
Phone: (563) 382-3651
Fax: (563) 382-6525
Chad A. Bird, City Manager
citymanager@decorahia.org
Decorah Ordinance (Ch. 2.50)
Des Moines Civil and Human Rights Commission
602 Robert D. Ray Drive
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: (515) 283-4284
Fax: (515) 237-1408
Joshua Barr, Director
jvbarr@dmgov.org
Des Moines Ordinance (Ch. 62)
Dubuque Human Rights Commission
1300 Main Street
Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone: (563) 589-4190
Fax: (563) 589-4299
Kelly Larson, Executive Director
klarson@cityofdubuque.org
Dubuque Ordinance
Fort Dodge Human Rights Commission
819 1st Avenue South
Fort Dodge, IA 50501
Phone: (515) 576-2201
Fax: (515) 573-5097
Jamie Anderson, Executive Director
janderson@fortdodgeiowa.org
Fort Dodge Ordinance (see Ch. 2.16, page 25)
Fort Madison Human Rights Commission
811 Avenue E
Fort Madison, IA 52627
Phone: (319) 372-7700
Fax: (319) 372-8661
Melinda Blind, City Clerk
mblind@fortmadison-ia.com
Fort Madison Ordinance
Grinnell Human Rights Commission
Schild Law Office
833 Broad Street
Grinnell, IA 50112
Phone: (641) 236-6506 Don Schild,
schildlaw@gmail.com
Grinnell Ordinance (Ch. 29)
Iowa City Human Rights Commission
410 E. Washington Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
Phone: (319) 356-5022
Fax: (319) 356-5009
Stefanie Bower , Director
Stefanie-Bowers@iowa-city.org
Iowa City Ordinance
Johnson County Human Rights Commission
417 S. Clinton Street
PO Box 2450
Iowa City, IA 52240
Phone: 319-339-6100 Janet Lyness, Johnson County Attorney
jlyness@co.johnson.ia.us
Keokuk Human Rights Commission
City Hall
415 Bloundeau St.
Keokuk, IA 52632
Phone: (319) 524-2050
Fax: (319) 524-5009
Dev Kiedaisch, Chair
DevKiedaisch@mac.com
Keokuk Ordinance
Marion Civil Rights Commission
Marion City Hall
1225 6th Avenue Suite 110
Marion, IA 52302
Phone: (319) 743-6303 Amanda Kaufman, Assistant to the City Manager
akaufman@cityofmarion.org
Chapter 31
Marshalltown Human Rights Commission
24 North Center Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone: (641) 754-5712
Fax: (641) 754-5717
Pastor Gregg Davison, Chair
gdavison@tlc-elca.org
Marshalltown Ordinance (Ch. 16)
Mason City Human Rights Commission
10 First Street NW
Mason City, IA 50401
Phone: (641) 424-7102
Fax: (641) 421-3619
Diana L. Black, Administrative Assistant
dblack@masoncity.net
Mason City Ordinance
Mount Pleasant Human Rights Commission
1101 E. Henry Street
Mount Pleasant, IA 52641
Phone: (319) 385-1470 Sal Alaniz, Chair
sal@printgroupusa.com
Mount Pleasant Ordinance
Sioux City Human Rights Commission
405 6th Street, Suite 410
Sioux City, IA 51102
Phone: (712) 279-6985
Fax: (712) 279-6326
Karen Mackey, Executive Director
kmackey@sioux-city.org
Sioux City Ordinance (Ch. 4.04)
Urbandale Civil Rights Commission
3600 86th Street
Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone: (515) 331-6703
Fax: (515) 278-3905
John Konior, Assistant to the City Manager
jkonior@urbandale.org
Urbandale Ordinance (Ch. 32)
Waterloo Commission on Human Rights
620 Mulberry, Suite 101
Waterloo, IA 50703
Phone: (319) 291-4441
Fax: (319) 291-4295
Abraham Funchess, Director
Abraham.Funchess@waterloo-ia.org
Waterloo Ordinance

Pages